Project Serpent: Day 4

Halfway through my first week, and it looks like unless things pick up I’m going to be taking a second. That’s fine though, just as long as I keep working.

Right now I have a very preliminary “step game” function that allows the snake to move around, maintaining its length, but doesn’t do any collision detection (including whether it has eaten any food). The obvious thing to do here would be to detect collisions and remove food (code is already in place to grow the snake if the collision detection signals that food has been eaten), but instead I’ve decided to take a little break to switch to working on the front end.

What have I been doing on the front end? Well, as in everything, there are degrees to this, and I’ve only been working on the “middle” front end so far — actual rendering and user input aren’t coming yet, but I’m one abstraction level closer to that. I am writing code that is “aware” that user input and frame rates exist and must be taken into account.

I’ve been handling this as follows. There are a few rough “parts” to the Effects library: the specification itself (defined in Spec.idr), the “resources” that are required to back those effects (which I define in GameState.idr), and “effectful programs” that make use of the operations defined in the specification to manipulate the resources. The great thing about effectful programs is that they can have a list of effects available, and can use operations from any of them. So for example, I’m writing programs right now with access to [GAME (Playing False rules), FPS 5]: I can manipulate a game that’s unpaused, and… hey, this FPS thing is new!

FPS is an effect I wrote yesterday night when I realized that if I’m writing code that will run on every browser frame, I shouldn’t necessarily have that code run a simulation tick every time. The coordinates I’m planning to use in Serpent are relatively low resolution, and moving forward by an entire “square” every frame would be way too much. So the FPS effect manages a little counter that can be queried to say “Hey, this much time has passed since I last talked to you. Should I run another simulation tick yet?”. Currently I have it set up to run 5 ticks per second, but that can be easily adjusted later.

Of course, 5 ticks per second is fine for the game clock, but a UI that runs at 5 FPS is going to be annoying. I plan to solve this using tagged effects: [FPS 5] represents the ability to respect a clock that runs at 5 ticks per second, but ['GameClock ::: FPS 5, 'UIClock ::: FPS 60] represents the ability to respect both a game clock that runs at 5 frames and a UI clock that runs at 60 frames per second. This is similar to how many RTS games run on a coarse-grained clock used for the simulation and a finer-grained clock so that nice animations can be shown between the game’s relatively abrupt state transitions.

And finally, right now I’m just writing a function from user inputs to effectful programs with access to [GAME (Playing False rules), 'GameClock ::: FPS 5, 'UIClock ::: FPS 60], but I plan to soon write an effect representing input as well. After that, I hope to be able to write code like this:

if !('GameClock :- tick delta)
  then turn !getDirectionCommand
  else pure False
if !('UIClock :- tick delta)
  then {- draw a new frame somehow -}
  else pure False

Of course, I’m not quite there yet. But I think I should be by the end of today!

Leave a Reply

